The Department of Energy Technology is organised in the below mentioned seven sections. The sections make up the basic organisation of all scientific employees and reflect the primary core competences.

Electric Power Systems

The section of Electric Power Systems deals with the areas of production, transportation and distribution of electricity as well as diagnosing of electro technical components.

Power Electronic Systems

The section of Power Electronic Systems works with the construction of power electronic converters and systems with special focus on energy optimal design, integration and optimisation of system performance.

Electrical Machines

The section of Electrical Machines focuses on development and design of new types of electric machines applying modern technologies and topologies. 

Fluid Power and Mechatronic Systems

The section of Fluid Power and Mechatronic Systems deals with problems regarding design and control of fluid and mechatronic systems for optimisation of system performance. 


Focus within the section Thermofluids is on multiphase flow, combustion of complex fuels, simulation of flow and combustion processes as well as development and experimental validation of CFD based simulation models. 

Thermal Energy Systems

The section of Thermal Energy Systems works within fuel cell systems, heating and cooling technologies, rotational and reciprocal machinery based systems, process integration and energy conversion systems.

Esbjerg Energy Section

The Esbjerg Energy Section is an interdisciplinary section and the core competence areas are primarily fluid mechanics and combustion for thermal energy systems and bioenergy systems. Power systems and electronic control for offshore energy systems are other core competence areas. In the future the Esbjerg Energy Section will cover all the core competence areas of the department.